Clinton Elementary Scholastic Chess Tournament

8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Clinton Elementary

Clinton Elementary
In Partnership with The Columbus Chess Academy

Sections: Note that all sections have grade level and rating requirements. Players with more than 10 rated games are not eligible for the non-rated sections. Players in the rated sections must be registered with before the tournament. CCA is also selling discounted USCF memberships to new members and to students whose membership has expired. Players who have won first place in a Nonrated Section during the 2018-2019 school year must play in a rated section.

In non-rated games, notation is not required and clocks are not required but may be used if both players agree. In rated games, notation is optional for grade K-3 players in U500/U900, but a player may lose the right to make claims requiring a score sheet; notation is required for all other rated players. Clocks will be used in all sections with games reaching the time limit. Rated players should bring their own clocks.

Sections Time Controls
Open 5 rounds G/30, d/5
U900 5 rounds G/30, d/5
U500 5 rounds G/30, d/5
K-3 non-rated 5 rounds G/30, d/0
4-5 non-rated 5 rounds G/30, d/0

Subsequent rounds will start once everyone in the section finishes. Players are scheduled to play all five rounds (no elimination). Estimated end time for non-rated players: 2:30 PM. Estimated end time for U500: 3:30 PM. Estimated end time for U900 and Open: 4:00 PM. Awards will be conducted as sections finish.

Entry Fee: Register at the bottom of this page. $25 for all online registrations until February 1st at 6 PM; thereafter $30 registration fee until 6:00 PM February 7th. Discounted entry fee for students with financial need are available. Please contact for more information. No on-site registrations. USCF discounted membership: $9. No printed magazine, but online access to both Chess Life and Chess Life for Kids.

Awards: Place Trophies awarded based on the number of entrants in each section, participation medals to all new players. Trophies awarded to top 2 teams (school only) in each section. Top 3 scores count for team.

Concessions: Concessions will be available on-site for purchase (cash only)

Check in: Check-in is from 8:30 AM to 8:45 AM. No section changes after 8:45 AM and no on-site entries.

Directions: Clinton Elementary is located at 10 Clinton Heights, Columbus OH, 43202.
Please park in the parking lot off of East North Broadway or on the street.

Registration Questions and Chief Tournament Director:
Katherine Lin. Email: Phone: 614-746-7682

Tournament Organizers:
Lisa Earley. Email:
Matt Earley. Email:


Bookings are closed for this event.

A list of registered participants will be published. If you do not wish for your child's name to appear, please email


  • Abhiraj Roy
  • Evan Bender
  • Cyrus Babai
  • Zavier Earley
  • Elena Earley
  • Ricky
  • Levi Brinton
  • Naftali Glaser
  • Jayanth Dondapati
  • George Happell
  • Owen Wiley
  • Evan Wiley
  • Ian Beam
  • Hunter Hong
  • Samar Gupta
  • Rithik Dulipyata
  • James Marinas
  • Philipp Marinas
  • Alana Marinas
  • Evan Fan
  • Sahasra Bheemaneni
  • Ethan Kinney
  • Eva Yockey
  • Sai Sujith Vadlamuri
  • Joseph Daiber
  • Seeley Rishel
  • Shreyaan Nutakki
  • David A Zeyen
  • Archer Andrews
  • Vincenzo Scardena
  • Het Patel
  • Anna Trittmann
  • Sophie Trittmann
  • Arthur Trittmann
  • Bram Milliman
  • Jude Gruber
  • Lennon Gruber
  • Neghavarsha Mohankumar
  • Hasini Gattikoppula
  • Jaithra Dillibabu
  • Nakul Ganesan
  • Wyatt Beer
  • Levi Dew
  • Jae Dew
  • Colin Park
  • August Johnson
  • Harris Johnson
  • Nicholas Showalter
  • Aidan Malone
  • Arul Shegaonkar
  • Carsen W Servis
  • Ellison Gutter
  • Cole Ballard
  • Brady pema
  • David Zeng
  • Tommy Coplin
  • Jackson Vanlandingham
  • Dominic Frate
  • Shiv Karthik Srinivasan
  • Arnav Londhe
  • Calie
  • Jack Philip
  • Saadhvi Vegesna
  • Quinn Thorne
  • John Zaleski
  • Haasya Kesani
  • Hashrith Kesani
  • Damian Earley
  • Derin Toruner
  • Liam Miller