2019 Clinton Elementary Scholastic Chess Tournament

Register Here

Saturday, February 16, 2019

Sections: Note that all sections have grade level and rating requirements. Players with more than 10 rated games are not eligible for the non-rated sections. Players in the rated sections must be registered with http://www.uschess.org before the tournament. CCA is also selling discounted USCF memberships to new members and to students whose membership has expired. Players who have won first place in a Nonrated Section for the 2018-2019 school year must play in a rated section.

In non-rated games, notation is not required and clocks are not required but may be used if both players agree. In rated games, notation is optional for grade K-3 players in U500/U900, but a player may lose the right to make claims requiring a score sheet; notation is required for all other rated players. Clocks will be used in all sections with games reaching the time limit. Rated players should bring their own clocks.

Sections                              Time Controls
Open                                        5 rounds G/30, d/5
U900                                       5 rounds G/30, d/5
U500                                       5 rounds G/30, d/5
K-3 non-rated                        5 rounds G/30, d/0
4-6 non-rated                        5 rounds G/30, d/0

8:30 – 8:45 Self-check-in. No section changes after 8:45 AM
8:50 – 8:55 Announcements
9:00 – 10:10 Round 1

Subsequent rounds will start once everyone in the section finishes. Players are scheduled to play all five rounds (no elimination). Estimated end time for non-rated players: 2:30 PM. Estimated end time for U500: 3:30 PM. Estimated end time for U900 and Open: 4:00 PM. Awards will be conducted as sections finish.

Entry Fee: Register at columbuschessacademy.org. $25 for all online registrations until February 9th at 6 PM; thereafter $30 registration fee until 6:00 PM February 15th . Discounted entry fee for students with financial need are available. Please contact columbuschessacademy@gmail.com for more information. No on-site registrations.

USCF discounted membership: $9. No printed magazine, but online access to both Chess Life and Chess Life for Kids. Make checks out to: Columbus Chess Academy.

Mail checks to:
Columbus Chess Academy
c/o Katherine Lin
654 Binns Blvd
Columbus OH 43204

Refunds for withdrawals with $5 administrative fee will be given if requested by 6:00 PM, February 15th . No refunds thereafter.

Awards: Place Trophies awarded based on the number of entrants in each section, participation medals to all new players. Trophies awarded to top 2 teams (school only) in each section. Top 3 scores count for team. Concessions: Concessions will be available on-site for purchase (cash only) Check in: Check-in is from 8:30 AM to 8:45 AM. No section changes after 8:45 AM and no on-site entries.

Directions: Clinton Elementary is located at 10 Clinton Heights, Columbus OH, 43202.
Please park in the parking lot off of East North Broadway or on the street.

Registration Questions and Chief Tournament Director:
Katherine Lin
Email: columbuschessacademy@gmail.com
Phone: 614-746-7682

Tournament Organizer:
Jennifer Lundine
Email: jplundine@gmail.com